Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women (or Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy) is a novel by American author Louisa May Alcott (1832–1888).

This classic story book was written and set in the Alcott family home, Orchard House, in Concord, Massachusetts.

The novel follows the lives of four sisters—Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March—and is loosely based on the author's childhood experiences with her three sisters.

The first volume was an immediate commercial and critical success, prompting the composition of the book's second volume titled Good Wives, which was successful as well.

The publication of the book in the form of a single volume first occurred in 1880. Alcott followed Little Women with two sequels, also featuring the March sisters, Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886). Little Women has been adapted as a play, a musical, an opera, a film, and animation.

Includes colour illustrations. Some foxing due to age.